Hill People Gear Forums
HomeHomeDiscussionsDiscussionsHPGHPGWhich Pack?Which Pack?
Previous

Next
New Post
6/12/2018 3:43 PM

So I am driving myself a little nuts trying to figure out the best pack for me.    I have been reading thread after thread trying to short through all the information available on the forums and on video reviews of the packs.  

First things first I am a total neophyte / noob when it comes to traditional back packing.   What little I did was when I was younger with ill-fitting ALICE packs (I am 6’2” with a longer than avg. torso.)  

In general, I am thinking of light outdoor hikes, and maybe fair-weather overnights (likely supplemented by close vehicle proximity and more experienced friends.)   It is also possible the pack maybe used as a travel bag for some business trips, and an emergency bag for road trips.  (i.e. not trying to thru hike the AT.)

I am only going to be able to afford one, so I need to get the most versatility, etc.

Currently I am leaning to the Umlindi with a recon belt.     To which I could later add an Aston pocket and butt pack should I need more space / organization. 

But the Ute, and Aston House, and Aston house BC, have their pluses too.  

The Aston clearly has an organizational advantage but not sure I need all that.  

The Ute and Umlindi appeal to me because of the simplicity and I like the butt pack as a top pocket.

Can the Aston pocket be used with the M2016 butt pack as a top pocket??

The fitting and adjusting of the Ute seem a little more difficult than the umlindi but cleary give an ergonomic advantage interms of load. 

Sorry if this is not the correct place to post this but did not know where.

New Post
6/12/2018 4:00 PM