Hill People Gear Forums
HomeHomeDiscussionsDiscussionsHPGHPGDirect-attach kit bag to complement a packDirect-attach kit bag to complement a pack
Previous

Next
New Post
7/20/2019 7:47 PM

I am sure this has been asked before, but I am not very good at searching

Is it possible to reduce the number of flappy bits by directly attaching a kit bag to replace the chest portion of one of the lighter packs?

I have a Tara and a kit bag (from a couple of years ago) but the various straps are different widths and do not line up.

My first application is fishing, so the waders already contribute chest/shoulder/back clutter.    Second application is light hiking and pre-hunting-season scouting.

Maybe it is a dumb idea, and there is a smarter way to overlap straps.  I'm open to suggestions

New Post
8/1/2019 6:10 AM

I got my KB yesterday and registered just now to ask this question. I have an Osprey pack, and my HPG Kit Bag came with the lifter straps. Those work great. The lowest point on the Osprey pack's shoulder straps is pretty high, so I have them adjusted all the way out, but it puts the KB right where I want it. The trouble I have is that the KB sewn top strap ends are up under the backpack shoulder straps, making it uncomfortable with any load.

With the lifter straps, I can do without the KB shoulder straps, which got me thinking maybe I could just take off the KB harness. But I still need the side support on the KB. If I had the webbing and hardware, I could connect the KB side straps to the 1" webbing on the Osprey. So I guess I'm looking for input on that, whether anyone's done it, and what they used.

New Post
8/1/2019 6:49 AM

Follow-up... I think if I could get something like the 5.11 Rush Tier straps that had a 1.5" split connector on one end for the KB loops, that would do what I need.

I'd probably either find a way to use the side buckles on the KB or snap them off in favor of the split buckles.

New Post
8/1/2019 7:18 AM