Hill People Gear Forums
HomeHomeDiscussionsDiscussionsGeneralGeneralTop Loaders vs Panel LoadersTop Loaders vs Panel Loaders
Previous

Next
New Post
12/21/2016 8:49 AM

Hey -

So I want to start out and this isn't me trying to "give" you a gear idea. I legit have a question about gear design, why you did what you did, and why some other designs are popular but y'all don't go that way. 

I ran across another gear company, Go Ruck, fairly recently. I have no experience with any of their products, and just stumbled across them while looking into adventure racing. (Obviously they aren't an adventure race...) It seemed that they strongly recommend you to use their own bags if you want to participate in their event, which then made me look up their bags. Their basic model (GR1) seems to be roughly the same size as the Umlindi (12x20x6.75 for GR1, vs 11x19x6.5 for Umlindi), but about $75 more. The Umlindi is a top-loading with zipper, the GR1 is ... Well there's a zipper that goes up one side, across the top, and down the other side. So it loads from the front of the pack. Basically like a really deep PALS Pocket. 

So here's my design question: why go with a top load vs a 3-sided zipper? It seems to me that top-load has fewer points of failure, and if the zipper failed it would be less catastrophic, while the 3-sided zipper would allow better access to everything inside (which is definitely a plus with the PALS Pocket). Is this just a personal preference thing, is there a reason for doing one over the other, and why did you (Hill brothers) choose the one you did? I really can't say I've seen a ton of packs where the front all but zips off, but top loading is the design of practically every outdoor or military pack I've ever used. 

Anyways, just curious. 

- J

New Post
12/21/2016 12:20 PM