Hill People Gear Forums
HomeHomeDiscussionsDiscussionsFirearms and Sk...Firearms and Sk...SW ShieldSW Shield
Previous

Next
New Post
4/29/2017 9:46 PM

I have seen a lot of good deals on new SW Shields lately. Does anyone have thoughts on the shield as a CCW. I can find all different viewpoints when searching the web!

New Post
4/29/2017 9:48 PM

I have no personal experience with them, but have handled a few that were being carried as backups by a few folk - even though they weren't authorized. They loved them.

New Post
4/30/2017 10:35 AM

With the latest round of Rebate offers, I thought I'd try one since I'd only have $225 in it.

Sadly, it's one of the few guns of decent quality I wasn't able to shoot well. It took A LOT of work to shoot that gun to anything even close to my expectations. And what's worse, I didn't particularly like anything else about the gun enough to make me want to commit to it.
I promptly sold it the same day I initially test fired it.

But, irrespective of my totally subject notions about the Shield, I've been around enough of them to believe they're adequately reliable once a particular gun has been vetted.

You can't buy much these days for $225 so it's a no-brainer not to at least try one on for size.

New Post
5/1/2017 1:17 AM

I've got a friend who has a couple of them, he likes them.  He actually just picked up another one at this clearance price.

I've shot one of his a couple times, they're ok.  Like someone said, a bit hard to shoot at first.  But it IS a small gun.

New Post
5/1/2017 9:04 AM

A buddy and I both bought Shields in 9mm when they first came out. We were happy with the accuracy and reliability. I also liked the grip size and safety in regards to AIWB carry. That said it didn't offer any significant size savings over a G19 while giving up capacity.