888.464.1875 | info@hillpeoplegear.com Register | Login
Hill People Gear Forums
HomeHomeDiscussionsDiscussionsHPGHPGBig Game and the UteBig Game and the Ute
Previous

Next
New Post
7/11/2016 7:31 PM

Hey All, 

I am fairly new to HPG, but appreciate both the gear, and the wealth of knowledge in the community. I am looking for a new pack, and trying to kill as many birds with one stone as possible. I am wondering if the Ute is set up in a way that folks find capable of hauling quartered elk. I've done a fair bit of searching through the forum and havent seen this question answered, but I'm likely just missing it. 

Cheers 

New Post
7/11/2016 8:37 PM

Kinda new to the Ute myself but my plan this fall and winter is to have either the Connor or the Highlander on the back with my day stuff, and the bag empty for meat if needed. Or if it is quarters then I figure I can collapse the bag and strap a quarter on. It is not often I need to pack meat but I don't doubt either will work.

New Post
7/11/2016 8:42 PM

Welcome to the forum. Lots of very useful info here, and all around bunch of good guys. I don't know any of them personally, maybe someday.

I have packed out 2 elk with the UTE. 2 years in a row ye-ha.

6 miles in on good trail.
late October, nice weather both years.
4 trips each, including camp.
3 days.