Hill People Gear Forums
HomeHomeDiscussionsDiscussionsHPGHPGBest EDC Backpack, with Laptop CompatibilityBest EDC Backpack, with Laptop Compatibility
Previous

Next
New Post
8/30/2019 6:51 PM

Hello Everyone, 

This is my first post on the forums, and I hope this post is in the most appropriate location. 

I am a graduate student at a major university, and my work involves frequent long-term travel abroad, often in rugged environments. I am in the market for a durable backpack that I can comfortably carry to class with a laptop, a couple notebooks, etc, and also use for work and travel. Ideally, the backpack would be small enough to avoid being awkward when carrying around campus, but large enough to fit my daily essentials , primarily the laptop. 

I have been looking closely at the Aston House BC which, as I understand, has the same footprint as the Connor pack and is very compressible  However I am also considering the Connor, and the Umlindi. 

I love the versatility of the Aston House, and this seems like an ideal choice for travel, outdoor activities, etc. My only concern is that the size, even when fully compressed, might be awkward in it's primary use: going from car to classroom, and around campus. 

Could anyone who's handled these packs please provide some insight on the size and compressability of these packs, and perhaps offer your suggestion for my situation? 

I sincerely appreciate the help and insight. 

Best

New Post
9/2/2019 6:55 AM

I use an Umlindi + Attache combo for just about everything. The two can be used attached to each other or separately depending on capacity needs. The compression system does an amazing job of keeping the profile small if I'm not lugging much around and the yoke-style shoulder straps are  extremely comfortable.

New Post
9/26/2019 1:02 PM