Hill People Gear Forums
HomeHomeDiscussionsDiscussionsFirearms and Sk...Firearms and Sk...1911 or "just another" Glock?1911 or "just another" Glock?
Previous

Next
New Post
3/29/2016 4:21 PM

Well. That was a breath of fresh air.

New Post
3/30/2016 1:52 AM

I run my Glock out of the box. Have been shooting the Glock 19 for several years. I also use it as a duty weapon. It's a great gun, but I don't need to sing the praises, they are well documented.

I have been considering a 1911 for many years. I love the look, love the history, and enjoyed shooting the guns owned by my friends. The last few posts were interesting and have me thinking of a 1911 again. I guess I can't go cheap, time to save some $.

New Post
3/30/2016 3:50 AM

And Im thinking about getting a Glock 19. Its in the Goldy Locks zone as far as size is concerned. I just think a stock Glock leaves some to be desired. The sights are place holders for real sights. Ive seen the front sight on Glocks come off inside holsters and such. A poorly swaged 1911 sight will do the same thing so its not really a big deal to me. I would probably add the extended slide release that comes stock on the 34, a grip plug and call it a day. Like I said, I love my Glocks but people seem to attach a mythical level or reliability and longevity to them and Ive seen them break. I know a guy that shoots competitively, and 19 has gone through some major over hauls in as a few as 10,000 rounds. Thats not a small number but it smacks in the face of some of the claims I see on various internet videos and communities. A gun is a machine and machines break.

New Post
3/30/2016 7:22 AM

DKC wrote: