Hill People Gear Forums
HomeHomeDiscussionsDiscussionsFirearms and Sk...Firearms and Sk...Personal holy grail gun?Personal holy grail gun?
Previous

Next
New Post
4/8/2018 6:11 PM

Hey all- since my 5.56 GSR review was in hindight the lamest first post on a forum in history, I thought I'd try again:  What gun is your white whale?  

For me it's the 5" original model S&W 610 10mm.   I bought one new in 1992 and let it go a few years later.  I've been scanning used gun cases for the last twenty-five years waiting for another.

New Post
4/8/2018 6:51 PM

Nothing terribly exotic, but I've been wanting a GP100 .357 for a long time. However, I definitely wanted a 3" barrel, which is a little harder to come by. Lots of 2.5" and 4.2" versions out there, not so many 3"s. Even better, the 3" that I found is the Wiley Clapp edition, which comes with Novak sights front and rear, and a sweet grip which I really like. It's my "holy grail" for a backcountry handgun. 

New Post
4/8/2018 6:54 PM

Those are incredibly cool. Well done. Nice photo by the way.

New Post
4/8/2018 9:17 PM

Agreed! Great photo. And a 3" .357 is a weapon to contend with.

New Post
4/14/2018 7:11 PM

My personal grail gun was a nice condition, shootable Mauser C96 Broomhandle. I wanted one since I was a kid in the 70s, even before I saw Han Solo use one in Star Wars. I had a cast pot-metal toy Broomhandle that my dad had got in the 50s which started my obsession.

I found one in December 2016.

It is a Wartime Commerical made sometime between 1915 and 1917. When I looked it over at the gun show the bore looked to be quite good. After I got it home and ran a few patches through, it turned out to be mint.

I do shoot it, using Prvi Partizan 7.63 Mauser ammo. It's had a few hundred rounds through it in my hands without any issues. The only problem is that my 13 year old daughter really likes shooting it with the stock and is trying to claim it as her own. We should all have such problems. :)

Dave Markowitz