Hill People Gear Forums
HomeHomeDiscussionsDiscussionsFirearms and Sk...Firearms and Sk...New Hunter Seeks Rifle AdviceNew Hunter Seeks Rifle Advice
Previous

Next
New Post
3/18/2014 12:58 PM

Howdy HPG Forums, long time reader, first time commenter.  Last week, at 38 years old I secured my first hunting license for the purpose of harvesting mid to large size game (deer, elk, antelope, et al) to feed my family.  I am seeking any and all rifle buying advice both in terms of brand and  caliber.  I have done a fair amount of reading online (forums, mfg websites) but have held off in posting any questions anywhere but here on the HPG forums.  I am a novice to firearms in general so any and all knowledge and experience you might wish to share will be most appreciated.

Goals and Needs

1. Landscape to be hunted: open valleys, tree'd foothills, as well as heavily tree'd mountainsides

2. Carry: both car-based and backpacking based trips (lightweight will be a priority)

3. Caliber: primary target will be deer, with a future possibility for taking elk.  My initial research suggests .300 Win Mag.  

4. Caliber availability: I'm interested in your thoughts on the availability and cost of ammunition in the longterm as part of the decision.  

5. Lifetime: I appreciate making purchases that are long lasting and as such I enjoy solid, proven technology.  That being said I embrace innovation and although am not an "early adopter" am also not a total luddite.  

6. Accessories: If you're feeling generous with your advice and would also like to make scope or other necessary accessory suggestions I am all ears.  

7. Sourcing: would you recommend sourcing a weapon from any particular place?  Big box store, local gun shop, online, gun show, et al?  

8. Price: quality, weight, and accuracy are my priorities.  Price is second.  So far I've looked at rifles in the $600 to $1300 range just to give you an idea of what I am bracing for.