Hill People Gear Forums
HomeHomeDiscussionsDiscussionsGeneralGeneralGPSGPS
Previous

Next
New Post
3/2/2018 12:33 PM

GPS 

Headed to the wilds of AK again, and this time want to have a GPS. I am almost totally ignorant on the subject so don't really even know the proper questions to ask. I'm not into bells and whistles, but am looking for a solid basic unit that is dead certain reliable for marking a location and getting me back to it again when need be. I'm mainly thinking of being able to find camp after dark, or in a heavy fog. Also if I have an animal down getting back to it the next day. When responding remember I'm a rank amateur in this area so keep it simple! Anxious to hear your suggestions. 

Thanks.

New Post
3/2/2018 3:57 PM

The first question you need to ask is if you want base maps in the GPS or just pure GPS function. If it is the first then you have a ton of choices with different sizes, shapes, ruggednesses, etc... Personally I tend to go for the latter, in which case it is hard to be the Fortrex 401 (I think that is the version they are up to at this point). It is just a straight up GPS. I mainly use it for river travel, which can be a bit similar to your fog scenario, but have used it in the past to confirm location using a paper map. I use the Fortrex (201 in my case), paper maps, and the mapping in my phone.

Co-Owner Hill People Gear "If anything goes wrong it will be a fight to the end, if your training is good enough, survival is there; if not nature claims its foreit." - Dougal Haston

New Post
3/2/2018 5:46 PM

+1 on the Garmin 401. Lightweight, no frills and simple. Great for marking trailheads, camp and anything else you need. I’m in the map and compass group but the 401 sure makes it easy.

New Post
3/2/2018 8:46 PM