Hill People Gear Forums
HomeHomeDiscussionsDiscussionsGeneralGeneralSmaller Mid quallity BinocularsSmaller Mid quallity Binoculars
Previous

Next
New Post
12/29/2019 5:34 PM

I am on the hunt for high quality smaller binoculars for my son's 8th grade graduation present.
My personal equipment is in the Leica, Swarovski, Schmidt und Bender realm so I have little experience with the mid grade optics.
I am considering something in the 7-8x 28-34mm range. I am willing to spend 200-500 dollars. I would like decent glass, and either North American or European build quality.

What is out there that fits this description?

New Post
12/30/2019 5:09 PM

Honestly the Nikon Binoculars and Vortex Binoculars are very hard to beat. I have fancier ones in my kit bag, but prior to that Nikon served me well. Evan just switched from Nikon to Vortex to have a bit more magnification and they are nicer.

Co-Owner Hill People Gear "If anything goes wrong it will be a fight to the end, if your training is good enough, survival is there; if not nature claims its foreit." - Dougal Haston

New Post
12/30/2019 10:34 PM

Ditto on the Vortex binos.  I bought my birdwatcher wife a Vortex 8x32 binocular and she loves it.

New Post
1/3/2020 2:29 PM

I am going to need my arm twisted on the Vortex stuff. I hear too many people who love the Vortex warranty... because they used it more than once.

New Post
1/3/2020 3:43 PM

I've had good luck with Maven products.

New Post
1/3/2020 3:59 PM

Though not NA or European, I have had great luck with Pentax. Bought them on review by John Barness who said they were just a slight touch below the big names in glass quality etc. I haven't compared them but they seem very good to me. If you shop they are in your price range. Good luck and have fun looking.

New Post
1/13/2020 2:13 PM