Hill People Gear Forums
HomeHomeDiscussionsDiscussionsGeneralGeneralEDC WatchEDC Watch
Previous

Next
New Post
7/16/2017 1:24 PM

I'm about to pull the trigger on a new watch and was wondering about the opinions, experiences, and comments from this forums users on a watch for everyday use. I'm looking at the Casio G-Shock GA100. 

https://www.amazon.com/Casio-GA100-1A1-Mens-Black/dp/B003WPUU0U/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1500232706&sr=8-1&keywords=casio+gshock+military

Ryan

New Post
7/17/2017 6:09 PM

I've been wearing a G Shock GW-6900 for the past 4 years or so everyday. I work construction and am outside all the time and it's held up great. The band is in good shape still, the screen has some scratches but that's to be expected with how hard I am on it. I will say that I love having the solar charge on it and the automatic time updates are awesome as the g shocks tend to run a little fast or slow, I think it may be +/- 30 seconds, so my vote would be get a solar g shock with the multiband 6. My next watch will be a Suunto something, they look cool and have a bunch of features but need new batteries more frequently.

New Post
7/17/2017 8:47 PM

Thanks, I appreciate the input. I'm in the trades so anything I have on gets destroyed.  Just wondering, why the switch to Suunto? 

New Post
7/17/2017 9:53 PM

I want the Suunto traverse alpha, it's a GPS watch with a boat load of features. The only reason would be for heading into the woods hunting or hiking. I will still wear my G shock daily. I looked into the rangeman because is has the triple sensor (altimeter/barometer, thermometer and compass) but when I tried it on it was definitely too big to wear everyday. 

New Post
7/18/2017 9:18 AM

I'm liking the looks of the Suunto Core and the features.

Is there a BENEFIT to analog over digital, or is it just preference?

New Post
7/18/2017 9:26 AM