Hill People Gear Forums
HomeHomeDiscussionsDiscussionsGeneralGeneralVehicle Preparation Video and QuestionVehicle Preparation Video and Question
Previous

Next
New Post
6/17/2017 11:14 PM

Folks:

I follow your video series regularly and was impressed with the most recent edition covering vehicle preparation.  It is well done and very informative.  I keep a fairly well stocked kit in my daily ride but want to add a highlift jack and non-collapsing shovel.  I am using a Nissan Frontier Pickup with truck bed cover (shell with locking rear window).

I am relatively new to overland type treking and wanted to find out about  the best methods for stowing the jack and shovel.  I would like to keep both inside the truckbed/cover to protect them from the elements and to deter theft.  I do not just want to throw them in the bed, but want them secured in the bed in some matter.  There is a tracked system Nissan supplies for cargo tie downs but I am at a loss for how it might be used. 

If you have any suggestions, I would appreciate it.  Thanks!

New Post
6/19/2017 9:00 AM

This could be the answer for the hi-lift:

http://www.hi-lift.com/accessories/loc-rac.html

And with the shell, you should have more options. See if you can use those quick ties (the giant twist ties) to tie the shovel to the shell itself somewhere. You can also use same to tie the shovel to the hi-lift.

We are fortunate in this matter that your conduct will be your marker and, thus, your reputation. The conduct of others on this forum has been, and will continue to be, their marker, and thus, their reputation. In the west, a person invests in one's reputation carefully. - 112Papa

New Post
6/19/2017 9:56 AM

Quick Fists seem to be the most popular way to mount shovels in truck beds. I have them on the Stealth Rack in my Jeep that holds my Hi-Lift and a shovel. They have been pretty secure so far. I have used the Hi-Lift mount Evan referenced in trucks before and it has worked well.

New Post